Difference between buy/sell stops and buy/sell limits
Page 1 of 733 123 LastLast

Thread: Difference between buy/sell stops and buy/sell limits

Hi everyone, I have been doing some studying on this and still dont quite understand the concept. I understand the buy/sell stop but I'm still a little lost about the buy/sell limits.

What's stopping someone from putting a sell stop at a high where you think that it will retrace instead of a market limit?

What are the gaps?

thanks

I am a part time Forex trader, so I need to utilize pending order egy! I basically open my pending order based on my analysis! I seem, pending order egy is your very much useful centre for your part time Forex traders!

Thanks for the answer. Can't you use a sell stop rather than a sell limit to join the market?

If you are sitting in the display and press the sell button to execute immediately, that is a market order (short for at market). Stop and limit orders don't get implemented straight away - the market must reach those specified prices first.

Quote Originally Posted by ;
    Thank You for the reply. Can't you use a sell stop instead of a sell limit to enter the market?
    You can on GFT and I'd imagine on others.
    Of course, as been explained previously ,your selling at a point beneath the current market.

Thank you for the responses. Smjones, on your chart, couldn't u use a sell stop rather than a sell limit? I am attempting to learn why they're separate. If I wish to market at a greater price, can not I use a market stop so that if the market goes up in my direction, it will activate the market stop with of the S/L T/P information? I am sorry but I am still confused. I can understand they're supposed to be used in a variety of instructions but I can see the benefit of using a market over a limitation etc..

Quote Originally Posted by ;